IRIN West-Africa: Nigeria's new cabinet 98.8.24

IRIN West-Africa: Nigeria's new cabinet 98.8.24

Office for the Co-ordination of Humanitarian Affairs Integrated Regional Information Network for West Africa

Tel: +225 21-73-54 Fax: +225 21-63-35


[This briefing is intended as background information for the humanitarian community and does not necessarily reflect the views of the UN.]

Briefing note on Nigeria: The following is the official list of the new government of the Federal Republic of Nigeria announced on 22 August, 1998.

Minister of Justice and Attorney-General: Alhaji Abdullahi Ibrahim Minister of Agriculture: Alhaji Alfa Wali Minister of State for Agriculture: Dr Jonathan Madugu Minister of Aviation: Captain Beribe Briggs Minister of Communication: Air Vice Marshall Cannes Umenwaliri Minister of Commerce and Tourism: Maj-Gen Patrick Aziza Minister of Education: Samuel Olaiya Oni Minister of State for Industry: Alhaji Saka Sa'adu Minister of Federal Capital Territory: Major-General (retd) Mamman T. Kontagora Minister of State in Federal Capital Territory: Mrs Princess A.O. Oguneye Minister of Finance: Alhaji Ismaila Usman Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance: Akpan Wilson Etukudo Minister of Foreign Affairs: Ambassador Ignatius C. Olisiemeka Minister of State for Foreign Affairs: Alhaji Buhari Bala Minister of Health: Professor Debo Adeyemi Minister of State for Health: Dr Abubakar Ali Minister of Information and Culture: John Nwodo Minister of Industry: Chief Mrs Onikepo Akande Minister of Internal Affairs: Professor Musa Yakubu Minister of Employment, Labour and Productivity: Dr Emmanuel Udogwu Minister of National Planning: Chief Rasheed Gbadamosi Minister of Power and Steel: Engineer Bello Suleiman Minister of State for Power and Steel: Godwin Ogbago Minister of Science and Technology: Major-General Sam Momah Minister of Solid Minerals: Patrick Yakowa Minister of Transport: Rear-Admiral Festus Porbeni Minister of Water Resources: Alhaji Hamza Sakwa Minister of Women Affairs: Dr Laraba Gambo Abdullahi Minister of Works and Housing: Major-General Garba Ali Mohammed Minister of State at the Ministry of Works and Housing: Ambrose Fesse Minister of Youth and Sports: Air Commodore Samson Emeka Omeruah

Abidjan, 24 August, 1998


[The material contained in this communication comes to you via IRIN West Africa, a UN humanitarian information unit, but may not necessarily reflect the views of the United Nations or its agencies. UN IRIN-WA Tel: +225 21 73 66 Fax: +225 21 63 35 e-mail: for more information or subscription. If you re-print, copy, archive or re-post this report, please retain this credit and disclaimer. Quotations or extracts should include attribution to the original sources. IRIN reports are archived on the Web at: or can be retrieved automatically by sending e-mail to <> - mailing list: irin-wa-updates]

Date: Mon, 24 Aug 1998 16:48:16 +0000 (GMT) From: UN IRIN - West Africa <> Subject: IRIN West-Africa: Nigeria's new cabinet 98.8.24 Message-Id: <>

Editor: Ali B. Ali-Dinar

Previous Menu Home Page What's New Search Country Specific