DRC: List of Government Ministers as of 8 June 1998 1998.6.8

DRC: List of Government Ministers as of 8 June 1998 1998.6.8

U N I T E D N A T I O N S Department of Humanitarian Affairs Integrated Regional Information Network for Central and Eastern Africa

Tel: +254 2 622147 Fax: +254 2 622129 e-mail:

Democratic Republic of Congo: Government List as of 8 June 1998

DRC President Laurent-Desire Kabila announced a new government on 1 June. The reshuffled team is composed of 38 posts including four ministers of state, 26 ministers and seven deputy ministers. Kabila remains in charge of the Defence Ministry. The following is a complete list of the current cabinet.

Minister of State for Internal Affairs - Gaetan Kakudji

Minister of State for Planning - Badimanyi Mulumba

Minister of State for President's office - Pierre-Victor Mpoyo

Minister of State for President's office - Deogratias Bugera

Justice Minister - Mwenze Kongolo

Foreign Affairs Minister - Bizima Karaha

Finance and Budget Minister - Fernand Tala Ngai

Agriculture Minister - Mawampanga Mwana Nanga

Economy Minister - Nyembo Kamema

Industry Minister - Babi Mbayi

Information and Media Minister - Didier Mumengi

Civil Service Minister - Paul Kapita Shanbangi

Environment, Fisheries and Forestry Minister- Eddy Angulu

Commerce Minister - Paul Bandoma

Health Minister - Jean-Baptiste Sondji

International Cooperation Minister - Celestin Lwangi

Transport Minister - Henri Movasakani

Portefeuille Minister (*) - Prosper Kibwey

Youth and Sports Minister - Nduba Kimbeya

National Education Minister - Kamara Rokahikara

Lands (Affaires Foncieres) Minister - Anatole Tshumbiaka Bishikwabo

Mines Minister - Frederic Kibassa Maliba

Posts and Telecommunications Minister - Kinkela Vi Kan'si

Labour and Social Security Minister - Thomas Kanza

Energy Minister - Christian Eleko Botuna

Culture and Arts Minister - Julienne Lumumba

Tourism Minister - Pascaline Birinya

Human Rights Minister - Leonard Okitundu

Strategic Resources and Development Minister - Umba Kyamitala

Deputy Interior Minister in charge of Public Order - Commander Faustin Munene

Deputy Interior Minister in charge of Local Government - Mulumba Katchi

Deputy Foreign Affairs Minister - David Mbwankiem

Deputy Social Affairs Minister - Ms Milulu Mamboleo

Deputy Primary and Secondary Education Minister - Ms Ebamba Bototo

Deputy Oil Industry Minister - Jean-Pierre Kalema Losona

Deputy Petroleum Marketing and Distribution Minister - Banyaku Lwape

(*) The Portefeuille Minister is in charge of various state enterprises


[The material contained in this communication comes to you via IRIN, a UN humanitarian information unit, but may not necessarily reflect the views of the United Nations or its agencies. UN IRIN Tel: +254 2 622123 Fax: +254 2 622129 e-mail: for more information or subscriptions. If you re-print, copy, archive or re-post this item, please retain this credit and disclaimer. Quotations or extracts should include attribution to the original sources. IRIN reports are archived on the WWW at: or can be retrieved automatically by sending e-mail to Mailing list: irin-cea-weekly]

Date: Mon, 8 Jun 1998 15:55:31 -0300 (GMT+3) From: IRIN - Central and Eastern Africa <> Subject: DRC: List of Government Ministers as of 8 June 1998 1998.6.8 Message-ID: <>

Editor: Dr. Ali B. Ali-Dinar, Ph.D

Previous Menu Home Page What's New Search Country Specific